Winter Edwardian Gown

Tomorrow the DFW Costumers Guild heads to the Fort Worth Museum of Science and History to see the Titanic Exhibition. I decided that since my previous Edwardian gown was more spring like, I needed a more winter look. This outfit doubles as my contribution to Challenge #1 of the Historical Sew Fortnightly group on Facebook.

Pattern: Folkwear 265 (with modifications)
Fabric: Dress – satin, tunic – cotton velvet, trimmed with faux mink and beaded trim

FW265-WinterFront

Front of the gown – I used pleats instead of gathering. I also made the straps a bit wider. I decided not to make the belts or bows. I’m in my 40s – I don’t need a bow on my rear-end. I also decided not to add the sash (it would drape over the belt under the bodice.

FW265-WinterBack

Back of the gown. You can see here the pleats I decided. All that still needs to be done is add fasteners. The pattern suggests a zipper, but zippers were still uncommon in 1913, so I’m going to use hooks and eyes.

FW265-WinterTunic

You’ve already seen what the tunic looked like without the fur trim on it. The main change I made to the tunic was shortening the length of the back and slight changes to the sleeves.

FW265-WinterTunic

The tunic is now finished! I added some trim that has small pearls in it.

FW265-WinterTunicCloseup

Closeup of the velvet with the trim.

I’ll post a photo of me wearing it tomorrow.

One thought on “Winter Edwardian Gown

  1. domesticnews says:

    Yup, looking forward to you modeling it! :-) Nice!!

Leave a Reply

